Post new topic   Reply to topic    Business Time Forum Index -> Business Time Discussion (Public)
View previous topic :: View next topic   Goto page 1, 2  Next
Tassager
Wears Business Socks

re: Computer School - Teach Me!

So, as was discussed in game last night, I'm planning on building a new computer here in the next couple weeks. I've created a google doc with thoughts/parts/questions that I have so far. I'm really new to this whole process, so any dumbing-down is helpful! Would love any input you all have, and appreciate the time looking this over!

https://docs.google.com/document/d/12bZmGsZjeru6cnbTut4IpPnJBz9nA8mSspKYIfGAODw/edit

Where is my thinking good? Where is it bad? HALP!

Supp has already been a great help, and a list that he sent me was a substantial starting point for a lot of this... So, thanks to you mang.
Rhius
Rius Aldregan
Wears Business Socks

Compuuutarrrrrrrrr

Whenever I get back into the PC-building mood I shoot over to TomsHardware.com and check out their system builder guides and "best X for your money this month" guides.

Your monitor, mouse, keyboard and optical drive will certainly be transferable. Your hard drive is a maybe, it depends on how old it is. You could use any hard drive you want for secondary storage but if it's getting long in the tooth you might want to look up expected failure time. Your memory almost certainly not!

4d) if you wind up getting the case you've linked to, it looks like you could park a sherman tank in there without much difficulty. Any motherboard you pick is going to work; cases of that quality have holes drilled for pretty much any standard size of board you would want to use in them.
Rhius
Rius Aldregan
Wears Business Socks

Have you assembled a computer before?
Tassager
Wears Business Socks

Have I built one start to finish? No.